*BANANA AND CRUNCHY NUT PARFAIT

CROQUANT
3/4 cup macadamia nuts
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons water
1 teaspoon vegetable oil

PARFAIT
4 eggs
6 egg yolks
1 cup sugar
2 cups heavy cream

CARAMEL SAUCE
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup water
1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter
1/2 cup vanilla ice cream

GARNISH
Chocolate sauce, purchased, warmed

PREPARATION:
Preheat oven to 375 F.

For croquant, place macadamia nuts on a sheet pan and toast for 7 minutes or until lightly browned.

Mix sugar and water in a small pan and simmer until golden brown. Add nuts to caramel and stir to coat. Grease a baking sheet and pour caramel and nuts onto it. Allow the mixture to cool.

For the parfait, using an electric mixer, whisk eggs, egg yolks and 3/4 cup sugar together until doubled in volume.

In another bowl, using an electric mixer, beat cream and remaining sugar until soft peaks form.

Gently fold the two mixtures together. Crush caramel-nut croquant and stir into mixture. Pour into a parchment paper- lined terrine mold. Place terrine in freezer for at least 3 hours.

For caramel sauce, melt sugar and water in a small saucepan over medium heat and simmer until golden brown. Remove from heat, add butter, and slowly mix in ice cream.

Remove parfait from mold by warming sides under hot running water.

Slice parfait and serve on chilled plates. Drizzle with chocolate sauce and caramel sauce.

Serves 10

CULINARY NOTES:
Croquant is a fancy French name for nut brittle. Once the sugar and nut mixture has cooled completely, break up into small pieces using a rolling pin or plastic cup.

For an equally fancy garnish, prepare a batch of the macadamia nut croquant and allow it to cool to the touch.

Working quickly, slice or cut several shapes and wrap or lay them across a variety of surfaces, spoons, rolling pins, etc. The cooled shapes will then be able to stand upright and retain whatever shape they are in.

*We would like to thank Royal Caribbean for giving us permission to post this recipe from their Savor RCCL International Cookbook

8 Responses

  1. Am I missing the bananas?

    Are they listed in this recipe?

    • I double checked the book for those phantom bananas and they are nowhere to be found!! I’ve asked the Royal Caribbean people to look into it for me. The book was published in 2006 and as far as they know – not one soul has noticed the missing bananas. As soon as I hear from Royal Caribbean, I’ll let you know, and I’ll post their response.

  2. The banana’s aren’t in the Savor Vol II book either – it really tastes like it has a banana liquor in it when we had it on the ship last night.

  3. I really would like to cook this dessert for Christmas Eve I will appreciate your response about the bananas

    • Dear Iddy,

      I wish you a wonderful Christmas Eve event. There are no bananas that are required for this recipe.
      If you see the remarks written by IEG, once you add all the ingredients, it will taste as though bananas are included.

      IEG was just on one of the RCCL Cruise Lines ship, and enjoyed the dessert

      I have pointed this out to our RCCL Cruise Line Representative, and she is also double-checking.

      Again thank you for visiting my blog and I do wish you and all a wonderful Holiday and meal.

  4. The topic is quite hot in the net right now. What do you pay attention to when choosing what to write ?

  5. WOW! I thought the publisher had a misprint! I read the recipe several times, thinking I missed the “bananas”. I guess I’ll just have to make it and hope nothing was left out of the recipe.

    I had this dessert, as well as the Grand Marnier Soufle, and loved them both!!

  6. Howdy. Initial I would like to say that I really like your web site, just discovered it the past week but I have been following it sometimes since then.

    I appear to come to an agreement with most of your respective ideas and opinions and this post is no exception. I fully

    Thank you for the great weblog and I hope you keep up the good perform. If you do I will continue to checked out it.

    Have a very excellent evening.

Leave a Reply

